Interesting Facts

Food allergies affect a growing number of consumers/guests. The EU already responded to this many years ago with a mandatory declaration of allergens; in accordance with the respective EU regulation, these must also be labeled in the gastronomy sector. So what is actually classified as "allergens" and what are these "notorious" additives that we at FRoSTA Foodservice have banned?

Allergens are substances in food that can trigger so-called hypersensitivities via the immune system. They can enter the body through inhalation, touch or, for example, through food (although they are harmless for 95% of the population).

Additives, on the other hand, are (deliberately) added to the product during manufacturing for technological or product-specific reasons. They can trigger allergy-like reactions, but are not considered allergens with the exception of sulfur dioxide and sulfites.

In total, there are 14 allergens that account for 90% of all allergic reactions which must be labeled in the gastronomy industry according to the EU regulation. Consequently, all cooks and service staff are expected to be familiar with them - provided they do not use products from FRoSTA Foodservice:

  • Grains containing gluten*
  • Crustacean shellfish*
  • Eggs*
  • Fish*
  • Peanuts*
  • Soy beans*
  • Milk* (incl. lactose)
  • Tree nuts*
  • Celery*
  • Mustard*
  • Sesame Seeds*
  • Lupins*
  • Mollusc Shellfish*
  • Sulfur dioxide and sulfites (in concentrations greater than 10 mg/kg or 10 mg/l)

    *and all products derived therefrom