As of 13.12.2014, allergens must be displayed on menus in the gastronomy sector!

An increasing number of consumers/guests are affected by food allergies, which is why the EU has responded to this with a mandatory declaration of allergens; under the new EU regulation, these must also be labeled within the gastronomy sector.

What are allergens and additives?

Allergens are substances in food that can trigger so-called hypersensitivities via the immune system. They can enter the body through inhalation, touch, or, for example, through food. They are harmless for 95% of the population.

Additives are deliberately added to the product during manufacturing for technological or product-specific reasons. They can trigger allergy-like reactions but are not considered allergens with the exception of sulfur dioxide and sulfites.

The 14 Main Allergens at a Glance

In accordance with the EU regulation, the following allergens must be indicated in the gastronomy sector and all cooks and service staff are expected to be familiar with them:

  1. Grains containing gluten*
  2. Crustacean shellfish*
  3. Eggs*
  4. Fish*
  5. Peanuts*
  6. Soy beans*
  7. Milk* (incl. lactose)
  8. Tree nuts*
  9. Celery*
  10. Mustard*
  11. Sesame seeds**
  12. Lupins*
  13. Mollusc shellfish*
  14. Sulfur dioxide and sulfites (in concentrations greater than 10 mg/kg or 10 mg/l)

These 14 allergens and *all products derived from them trigger 90% of all allergic reactions.

Allergens Overview